Contributing nations

A unique statuts in the heart of Europe

EUROCORPS is a unique multinational Headquarters (other NATO Rapid Deployable Corps being only national, bi-national or tri-national). From the very beginning started as a Franco-German Corps, the doors were open for other nations who could acquire the same rights as the founders. Between 1993 and 1996, Belgium, Spain and Luxembourg joined the Headquarters. On 23 January 2022, Poland also became a Framework Nation.

Austria, Greece, Italy, Romania and Turkey are Associated Nations of EUROCORPS.

The variety of nationalities is visible in each cell, section, platoon, company, branch or division. All men and women of Eurocorps wear the same beret. Only the branch chiefs are “flagged” – which means that these posts are assigned to a specific nation. The branch members come from all the Framework Nations and Associated Nations. The two-year rotation plan also allows each Framework Nation to occupy key positions within the Command Group.

All the decisions are taken unanimously by the Framework Nations in the EUROCORPS Common Committee. The participation of Associated Nations in any EUROCORPS commitment shall be systematically submitted for approval to the authorities of each country.

Austrian, Belgian, French, German, Greek, Italian, Luxembourg, Polish, Romanian, Spanish and Turkish soldiers work all together in a true multinational spirit. This creates a true multicultural cooperation within the EUROCORPS.

Located in the EUROMETROPOLE Strasbourg, EUROCORPS is close to the decision-making centers of the European Union and NATO, allowing it to maintain close relations on a political and military level.

As of September 2021

DCOS I and ABrigadier General Stéphane PAU

After having completed the French officers’ school at Saint-Cyr in 1987, Brigadier General Stéphane Pau chose infantry. He mostly served in the French Foreign Legion in French Guiana and in France. In particular he took command of the 4th Foreign Legion Battalion. He commanded also the Joint Center for Actions on the Environment, the French CMI/CIMIC and Influence Center in Lyon. He was posted twice to the US at the 2d division of the USMC and within CENTCOM. He has participated in several missions in Africa.

DCOS SPT / ENABBrigadier General Wojciech KUCHARSKI

Brigadier General Wojciech KUCHARSKI worked for almost the entire career at Land Forces stage - from a Platoon Commander to the Deputy Chief P3/P7 on the General Staff of the Polish Armed Forces level (including missions – Chad, RCA and service abroad - EU Brussels). From 2018 BG Kucharski is appointed to DCOS SPT & ENB in HQ EC.
BG Kucharski graduated from the Military Academy of Armoured Forces in Poznań and War College, Center for Higher Military Studies and the Institute of Higher Studies of National Defense in Paris.

DCOS PLANS / OPSBrigadier General Fernando Luis GRACIA HERREIZ

Brigadier General Fernando Luis Gracia Herreiz has served in the Spanish Legion for almost 12 years since 1988 being deployed in Bosnia, Croatia, Sudan, Lebanon, Afghanistan and as Spanish Senior Representative in the USCENTCOM in Tampa (Florida) (Inherent Resolve). As Lieutenant-Colonel he was appointed Commander of the 2nd Mechanized Battalion of the X Mechanized Brigade. As Colonel he was Chief of Strategy and Strategic Plans in the Defence General Staff in Madrid. He is currently DCOS OPS of Eurocorps since September 2019.

Deputy CommanderMajor General Josef BLOTZ

Major General Josef Blotz, born on November, 22nd 1956, joined the Armed Forces in 1975. He has been appointed to numerous national and international posts, served as Brigade Commander, in the DEU MOD, at NATO HQ and with the UN. Since Sept 2019 Major General Blotz is the Dep Com Eurocorps. In his career he was deployed to missions in Bosnia, Afghanistan and Libya.

Commanding GeneralLieutenant General Laurent KOLODZIEJ

Lieutenant General Laurent Kolodziej was commissioned into the French cavalry in 1987
and served in the French Foreign Legion in Orange and Djibouti. He was the commander of
the light armoured regiment of the French Mountain Brigade (4th Cavalry Regiment) and later
of one of the French amphibious brigades (6th Light Armoured Brigade). He led the
department of international engagements on behalf of the French MoD and was the Chief of
Staff and then the Commander of RRC France before taking command of Eurocorps in 2019.